Hello,

I have been using the API for 3 months. Today, it suddenly stopped working.

I receive an "Access Denied" error.

When I use a different computer with a different IP it works.

I think I have some DNS resolving issues, because when I manually browse to https://ciapi.cityindex.com/ on both computers, I am seeing different webpages (screenshot in attachment, valid.png is from the computer on which API is working, invalid.png is from the computer on which it is not working).

I have run the following command to query the Google/OpenDNS DNS servers for ciapi.cityindex.com and it is giving me different results.

nslookup ciapi.cityindex.com. 8.8.8.8

Which is giving me the following different results:
This one is the result on the machine where the API is not working:

C:\Users\Administrator>nslookup ciapi.cityindex.com. 8.8.8.8
Server:  google-public-dns-a.google.com
Address:  8.8.8.8

Non-authoritative answer:
Name:    e13934.b.akamaiedge.net
Address:  23.43.121.124
Aliases:  ciapi.cityindex.com
          ciapi.cityindex.com.edgekey.net

C:\Users\Administrator>nslookup ciapi.cityindex.com. 208.67.222.222
Server:  resolver1.opendns.com
Address:  208.67.222.222

Address:  23.43.121.124

And the following one is the result on the machine where the API is working:

C:\Users\Administrator>nslookup ciapi.cityindex.com. 8.8.8.8
Server:  google-public-dns-a.google.com
Address:  8.8.8.8

Address:  104.96.153.135

C:\Users\Administrator>nslookup ciapi.cityindex.com. 208.67.222.222
Server:  resolver1.opendns.com
Address:  208.67.222.222

Address:  172.227.187.138

As you can see, on the "not working" computer, OpenDNS and Google DNS gives me the same, invalid IP, and on the "working" computer it gives me two different IP addresses.

I have experienced once the same problem with Akamai when using the time.windows.com NTP server. I have not fixed it, and just switched to another NTP server.